The 20th Century Stamp Series 5

C1731a: Film, "Kurama Tengu" C1731b: First Metro (1927) C1731c: Metro in Tokyo (1927) C1731d: Radio Calisthenics
C1731e: Amsterdam Olympic
Games, Tsuruta Yoshiyuki
C1731f: Amsterdam Olympic
Games, Oda Mikio
C1731g: Amsterdam Olympic
Games (1928)
C1731h: Amsterdam Olympic
Games, Hitome Kinu'e
C1731i: Heyday of Cafe C1731j: Hayashi Fumiko

IssueThe 20th Century Stamp Series 5
Date of Issue21 January 2000 (Heisei 12)
Denominations50 yen x 2: (C1731b-c)
80 yen x 8
Quantity7,000,000 copies each (7,000,000 sheets)
DesignsC1731a: Film "Kurama Tengu"C1731b: First Metro in Asia (A)
C1731c: First Metro in Asia (B)C1731d: Radio calisthenics
C1731e: Amsterdam Olympic Games
Tsuruta Yoshiyuki
C1731f: Amsterdam Olympic Games
Oda Mikio
C1731g: Amsterdam Olympic Games
C1731h: Amsterdam Olympic Games
Hitomi Kinu'e
C1731i: Heyday of CafeC1731j: Hayashi Fumiko
PrintingPhotogravure in 6 colours
SheetA sheet of ten stamps (Picture of the sheet)
Sheet Size140.25 x 212.5 millimeters
DesignerMorita Motoharu
First Day of
Issue Postmarki
Tokyo Central Post Office

(Back to Menu)

(Small Notes for the Issue)
The fifth series depicts the six subjects, which represent the years from 1927 to 1928.
C1731a: Film "Kurama Tengu"(1927) starring Arashi Kanjurou.
C1731b-c: December 1927, the first metro in Japan and Asia was opened to public between Ueno and Asakusa in Tokyo, which is a part of the present Ginza Line.
C1731d: Radio calisthenics started in November 1928.
C1731e: Amsterdam Olympic games (1928). Tsuruta Yoshiyuki set a new Olympic record of 2:48.4 in the 200-meter breast stroke, becoming the first Japanese swimmer to win a gold medal.
C1731f: Amsterdam Olympic games (1928). Oda Mikio became Japan's first Olympic gold medal holder bywinning the riple jump competition.
C1731g: Amsterdam Olympic games (1928).
C1731h: Amsterdam Olympic games (1928). Hitomi Kinu'e placed second in the 800-meter run, becoming the first Japanese woman to win an Olympic medal.
C1731i: Heyday of Cafe.
C1731j: "Hourouki (Journal of a Vagabond)" by Hayashi Fumiko (1903-1951).